Field Director's Network

The Horatio Alger Association works with educators around the country to promote scholarship opportunities for talented, low income youth. The goal is to have at least one field director serving as the local representative of the Association in every state. Field Directors are able to assist other educators with questions about Horatio Alger Educational Programs.

Click on a state below to find your field director.

The Association is currently seeking Field Directors in the states that are appearing in red.

Co-Directors

Mr. Ron Nicola
Title: Vice Principal, Retired
Organization: Livermore High School
Email: rnlm@aol.com

Ms. Kay E. Baker
Title: Director, Retired, Pat May Center, Staff Development Center
Organization: HEBISD
Email: kbaker@horatioalger.org

Dr. Mack D. Armstrong
Title: Assistant Executive Director
Organization: Washington Association of School Administrators
Email: marmstrong@wasa-oly.org

Mr. Michael Whellams
Title: Principal, Retired
Organization: Incline and McQueen High Schools
Email: whellams@orcas-island.com

Alabama Field Directors

Ms. Katrina Akers
Title: Executive Director
Organization: Alabama Student Council Association
City: Anniston
Email: katrina@clasleaders.org

Alaska Field Directors

Mr. Kevin Turnbough
Title: Upward Bound-Program Coordinator
Organization: University of Alaska Fairbanks
City: Fairbanks
Email: kturnbough@alaska.edu

Ms. Sara R. Moore
Title: District Career Counselor/Specialist
Organization: Kenai Peninsula Borough School District
City: Soldotna
Email: smoore@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Arizona Field Directors

Ms. Emily Britton
Title: The Leona Group LLC
Organization: Director of Quality Schools Initiatives
City: Phoenix
Email: emily.britton@leonagroup.com

Arkansas Field Directors

Mr. Jonathan Williams
Title: Counselor
Organization: Malvern High School
City: Malvern
Email: jwilliams@malvernleopards.org

California Field Directors

Ms. Pamela A. Lee
Title: Instructional Assistant, Retired
Organization: Laurel High School
City: Los Alamitos
Email: PamelaL234@aol.com

Mr. Ron Nicola
Title: Vice Principal, Retired
Organization: Livermore High School
City: Walnut Creek
Email: rnlm@aol.com

Colorado Field Directors

Mr. Rashaan Davis
Title: Social Studies Teacher/Student Senate Advisor
Organization: Highlands Ranch High School
City: Highlands Ranch
Email: rashaan.davis@dcsdk12.org

Connecticut Field Directors

Ms. Gloria Haney
Title: Counselor
Organization: The Sound School
City: New Haven
Email: gloria.haney@new-haven.k12.ct.us

Delaware Field Directors

Ms. Mary Jo H. Timmons
Title: Guidance Director, Retired
Organization: Sussex Central High School
City: Dagsboro
Email: mj@mjtimmons.com

District of Columbia Field Directors

Sister Helen McCulloch
Title: Director of College Counseling
Organization: Archbishop Carroll High School
City: Washington
Email: hmcculloch@achsdc.org

Florida Field Directors

Ms. Norma Evans-O’Connor
Title: Assistant Principal
Organization: New Beginnings Education Center
City: Kissimmee
Email: nleoc@cfl.rr.com

Ms. Pamela Masters
City: Pompano Beach
Email: pmasters@bellsouth.net

Georgia Field Directors

Dr. Douglas Wright
Title: Youth Apprenticeship Director
Organization: 12 for Life Coordinator Carroll County School System
City: Carrollton
Email: doug.wright@carrollcountyschools.com

Ms. Patti Ireland
Title: Executive Director Emeritus
Organization: Southern Association of Student Councils
City: Stone Mountain
Email: pwart@aol.com

Hawaii Field Directors

Ms. Eleyne Fia
Title: Career/College Counselor AVID Site Coordinator
Organization: James Campbell High School
City: Ewa Beach
Email: Eleyne_Fia/CAMPBELL/HIDOE@notes.k12.hi.us

Idaho Field Directors

Mr. Bart C. Barrett
Title: Director of Career Services
Organization: Carrington College
City: Coeur d'Alene
Email: bart.barrett@horatioalger.com

Illinois Field Directors

Mr. Jonathan Chaparro
Title: Recruitment Specialist, 2004 National Scholar
Organization: Teach for America
City: Chicago
Email: jon.chaparro08@gmail.com

Mr. Michael Tow
Title: Teacher, 2000 National Scholar
Organization: Carbondale Community High School
City: Carbondale
Email: michaelctow@hotmail.com

Indiana Field Directors

Ms. Sandy Hillman
Title: Assistant Principal
Organization: Center Grove High School
City: Greenwood
Email: hillmans@centergrove.k12.in.us

Iowa Field Directors

Mr. Rex Kozak
Title: Principal
Organization: East Marshall School District
City: Le Grand
Email: rkozak@e-marshall.k12.ia.us

Kansas Field Directors

Mr. Bob Tryanski
Title: Storyteller, Speaker, Social Entrepreneur
Organization: Bob Tryanski Presents
City: Lawrence
Email: btryanski@mac.com

Kentucky Field Directors

Ms. Lorelei Keeton
Title: Guidance Counselor
Organization: Morgan County High School
City: West Liberty
Email: lori.keeton@morgan.kyschools.us

Louisiana Field Directors

Ms. Patsy Coleman
Title: Student Council Advisor
Organization: Northwood High School
City: Lena
Email: patsy.coleman@rpsb.us

Maine Field Directors

Mrs. Amy L. Hubbard
Title: Science Design and Development Specialist
Organization: Measured Progress
City: Limington
Email: amylhubbard1@gmail.com

Missouri Field Directors

Dr. Donald "Skip" Sallee
Title: Radiologist
City: St. Louis
Email: skip.sallee@meridianinternet.net

Mr. James L. Starr
Title: Chief Financial Officer
Organization: Lumens Inc
City: St. Louis
Email: jameslouisstarr@yahoo.com

Montana Field Directors

Ms. Jane Suberg
Title: Principal
Organization: Highwood High School
City: Highwood
Email: jsuberg@highwood.k12.mt.us

Nebraska Field Directors

Mr. Mark Murphy
Title: Principal
Organization: Centennial Public School
City: Lincoln
Email: mmtetons@gmail.com

Nevada Field Directors

Dr. Kathy Freeman
Title: Assistant Principal, Retired
Organization: McQueen High School
City: Reno
Email: kkfreeman@pyramid.net

New Hampshire Field Directors

Ms. Brittany Voglino
Title: Liberty Mutual/2005 National Scholar
Organization: Sales Representative
City: Salem
Email: brit.ritt@gmail.com

New Jersey Field Directors

Ms. Jemima Laurent
Title: 2007 Pennsylvania Scholar
City: Maplewood
Email: jlaurent@horatioalger.org

New Mexico Field Directors

Ms. Libby Tilley
Title: Retired Educator
City: Albuquerque
Email: etilley3@comcast.net

New York Field Directors

Dr. Joan K. Lange
Title: Assistant Superintendent
Organization: Amityville Public Schools
City: Westbury
Email: jkl1010@verizon.net

North Carolina Field Directors

Mr. Rangel McLaurin
Title: School Counselor
Organization: Reid Ross Classical High School
City: Fayetteville
Email: rmclaurin@horatioalger.org

North Dakota Field Directors

Mr. Bruce Walker
Title: Former Principal
Organization: Minot Senior High School
City: Minot
Email: bruce@coldwellbanker.com

Mr. Les Anderson
Title: Executive Director
Organization: North Dakota Student Activities Association SC & NHS
City: Minot
Email: les.anderson@sendit.nodak.edu

Ohio Field Directors

Ms. Sharon Mastroianni
Title: Superintendent
Organization: EHOVE Career Center
City: Milan
Email: smastroi@ehove.net

Oklahoma Field Directors

Mr. Gary Oberste
Title: Vice Principal - Student Activities
Organization: Bishop Kelley High School
City: Tulsa
Email: goberste@bkelleyhs.org

Pennsylvania Field Directors

Mr. Jim Finnemeyer
Title: Executive Director, Retired
Organization: Pennsylvania Association of Student Councils
City: Hatfield
Email: Finnemeyer@aol.com

Rhode Island Field Directors

Mr. Jeffrey D. Johnson
Title: Teacher, 2009 National Scholar
Organization: Teach for America
City: Providence
Email: jdonnelljohnson@horatioalger.org

South Carolina Field Directors

Mrs. Lola Richbourg
Title: Activities Director
Organization: SCASC
City: Gaston
Email: scasc.richbourg@gmail.com

South Dakota Field Directors

Ms. Diana Larson
Title: Counselor
Organization: Madison High School
City: Madison
Email: Diana.L.Larson@k12.sd.us

Tennessee Field Directors

Ms. Katy Valesky
Title: Financial Secretary
Organization: St. George's Episcopal Church
City: Brentwood
Email: kvalesky@horatioalger.org

Texas Field Directors

Mr. Doug Brown
Title: Attorney, 1996 National Scholar
Organization: Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
City: Austin
Email: douglasbrown@horatioalger.org

Ms. Kay E. Baker
Title: Director, Retired, Pat May Center, Staff Development Center
Organization: HEBISD
City: Hurst
Email: kbaker@horatioalger.org

Texas-Fort Worth Field Directors

Ms. Janet McCarty
Title: Educational Consultant
City: Dallas
Email: janet3m@gmail.com

Utah Field Directors

Mr. Kenneth J. Nielsen
Title: Counselor
Organization: Delta High School
City: Delta
Email: kenneth.nielsen@millardk12.org

Vermont Field Directors

Ms. Elsie Weiser
Title: Former Director/Retired Educator
Organization: Vermont Association of Student Councils
City: Westminster
Email: elsie.weiser@gmail.com

Ms. Trisha O'Neal
Title: 2007 Pennsylvania Scholar
City: Essex Jct
Email: onealtrisha@horatioalger.org

Virginia Field Directors

Ms. Shirley C. Eye
Title: Principal, Retired
Organization: Appomattox County High and Chancellor Middle Schools
City: Fredericksburg
Email: dabney1996@aol.com

Wisconsin Field Directors

Ms. Michelle McGrath
Title: Executive Director
Organization: Wisconsin Assoc. of Student Councils
City: Madison
Email: michellem@wasc.org

Wyoming Field Directors

Mr. Derek Allen Query
Title: Teacher/Coach
Organization: Big Horn School District #4
City: Basin
Email: derek.query@bgh4.k12.wy.us

Alaska Hawaii California Washington Nevada Idaho Montana North Dakota South Dakota Minnesota Wyoming Nebraska Wisconsin Iowa Illinois Arizona Utah Colorado Kansas Missouri New Mexico Oklahoma Texas Louisiana Arkansas Mississippi Alabama Georgia Florida Tennessee Kentucky Indiana Ohio Michigan South Carolina North Carolina West Virginia Virginia Maine New Hampshire Pennsylvania Vermont New York Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Connecticut Delaware Maryland Washington DC